Our Mission & Vision
The mission of the Tampa Firefighters Museum is to preserve the heritage of the Tampa Fire Department and promote life safety education and fire prevention within the community.
The Tampa Firefighters Museum’s vision is to preserve the rich history, culture, and significance of the Tampa Fire Department by sharing real-life events, exhibits, and life safety education while ensuring our future by encouraging the next generation to pursue the fire service as a profession.
Mission & Vision United
The Tampa Firefighters Museum pays tribute to our firefighters, past, present, and future, and the rich legacy they have left us. When you walk through the doors of the 1911 Firehouse, “Old Fire Station #1”, that our museum calls home, you can see firsthand how our mission and vision are united.
This two story, beautifully restored firehouse stands as a tribute to all those who have served our great city. The museum exhibits and museum store are open to the general public from 10 am to 2 pm on Tuesdays thru Saturdays. There is no admission charge but donations are greatly appreciated.
The 1st-floor exhibition hall houses our museum exhibits and children’s life safety education center. Measuring approximately 5,000 square feet, the exhibition hall has the original brick walls and concrete floors.
The 2nd-floor exhibition hall is approximately 2,500 square feet, with original wood flooring in a rich walnut tone. The entire museum is wheelchair accessible and ADA compliant.
The Tampa Firefighters Museum, Inc. is a non profit organization that was established in 1997 with the purpose of preserving the history of the Tampa Fire Department and its members and providing fire safety education and emergency awareness to the local community.
The Tampa Firefighters Museum, Inc. is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization and contributions are tax-deductible for income, gift, and estate taxes.
Built in 1911, the historic structure that houses the Tampa Firefighters Museum served as headquarters for the Tampa Fire Department Station until 1974 when its modern-day replacement opened across the street.
During its active service years, this building presided over the 63-year transformation from horse-drawn apparatus to diesel-powered rescue and firefighting vehicles.